Materials dataDeep dive

PETG from eight brands, compared datasheet by datasheet

Three of the eight PETG datasheets in this comparison list a tensile strength of 51 MPa. One of them comes from bars printed on a Bambu Lab X1-Carbon. The other two, from Extrudr and Fiberlogy, do not say how their bars were made, and they also list 28 and 29 percent elongation at break, a figure no printed PETG bar in the group gets near. The lowest strength in the table, Overture’s 31.9 MPa, was measured on a smaller ASTM type IV bar. Sort this table by its strength column and you mostly sort it by test method.

We collected the current public datasheet for each brand’s standard PETG in September 2026, recorded every figure with its test standard and specimen notes, and checked prices on 13 September. We did not print or test anything ourselves. This is a comparison of what the brands publish, and where the paper is thin we say so. The checks we apply to each sheet are the ones in how to read a filament datasheet.

The eight sheets

Brand and product Datasheet we used How the test bars were made
Prusament PETG Version 1.1, February 2022 Printed on an Original Prusa i3 MK3 at 250 °C, 100 percent infill
Polymaker PolyLite PETG (sold as Polymaker PETG) V5.4 Printed at 240 °C, bed 80 °C, fan off, 100 percent infill
Bambu Lab PETG Basic V3.0 Printed on an X1-Carbon at 255 °C and 150 mm/s, 100 percent infill
eSun PETG Version 2.0, July 2025 Printed on a Bambu Lab P1S at 260 °C, fan at 100 percent, 100 percent infill
Overture PETG Version 1.1, January 2024 Printed at 240 °C and 45 mm/s, 100 percent infill, ASTM type IV bar
Sunlu PETG Document SL-TE-WI-074 Not clearly stated in English
Extrudr PETG 16 July 2025 Not stated
Fiberlogy Easy PETG Manufacturer figures as listed by retailer Filament2Print Not stated

Bambu Lab sells more than one PETG. We used PETG Basic because its sheet is the newer one. The PETG HF sheet we also read describes bars that were annealed and dried at 75 °C for 8 hours before testing, which makes its figures harder to set against anyone else’s.

Fiberlogy publishes its datasheet as a scanned image that we could not extract, so its figures come from a retailer’s listing of that sheet. Treat that row with the extra caution it deserves.

Tensile strength, flat and across layers

Brand Tensile strength, flat (X-Y) Across layers (Z) Elongation at break, flat Tensile modulus, flat Standard cited
Prusament 47 ± 2 MPa (yield) Not published; 50 ± 1 MPa on edge, 18 ± 4 MPa interlayer adhesion by an in-house method Not published (5.1 % at yield) 1.5 ± 0.1 GPa ISO 527-1
Polymaker 50.8 ± 0.9 MPa 42.8 ± 2.8 MPa 8.4 ± 1.7 % 2,117 ± 68 MPa ISO 527, GB/T 1040
Bambu Lab PETG Basic 51 ± 1 MPa 35 ± 6 MPa 9.5 ± 0.7 % 2,780 ± 65 MPa ISO 527, GB/T 1040
eSun 34.77 MPa 28.65 MPa 5.15 % Not published GB/T 1040
Overture 31.9 ± 1.1 MPa Not published 6.8 ± 0.9 % 1,472 ± 270 MPa ASTM D638, bar drawn as type IV
Sunlu 48 ± 10 MPa Not published 11 ± 5 % Not published ISO 527-2
Extrudr 51 MPa (yield), 61 MPa (strength) Not published 28 % (nominal) 3,100 MPa ISO 527
Fiberlogy 51 MPa Not published 29 % 2,800 MPa Not listed

Three sheets give a flat and a layer-direction value from printed bars under the same family of standards, and those are the only rows where the Z column means the same thing. Polymaker keeps 84 percent of its flat strength across the layers (42.8 of 50.8 MPa). eSun keeps 82 percent. Bambu Lab’s PETG Basic has the highest flat figure of the three and the biggest drop, to 69 percent, with a ± 6 MPa band on the Z value. For a part that takes load across its layers, such as a bracket printed standing up, Polymaker’s 42.8 MPa is the best documented number in this group.

eSun’s flat figure of 34.77 MPa is the lowest of any bar tested to ISO 527 or GB/T 1040 here. Its test prints ran with the part cooling fan at 100 percent, while Polymaker printed its bars with the fan off. CNC Kitchen’s 2022 test on clear PETG found that print settings alone moved standing bars from 34 to 44 MPa, so some of eSun’s gap may come from how the bars were printed. The sheet does not let anyone separate the two.

Prusament does not publish a true Z figure. Its “vertical xz” bar stands on edge with the layers still running along it, which is why it comes out stronger than the flat bar, and the layer bond is reported separately as 18 ± 4 MPa from a Prusa Polymers method that no other brand in this group uses. That 18 MPa cannot go next to Polymaker’s 42.8. The sheet also gives elongation at yield instead of at break, and its unnotched Charpy bars did not break at all.

Overture’s 31.9 MPa comes with two caveats. The bar is ASTM’s type IV, a smaller shape than the ISO 1A or ASTM type I bars the other sheets point to. And in January 2026 Overture announced a reformulated PETG with more than 17 percent higher Z strength than the old version, without publishing absolute figures in the announcement. The sheet we could find predates that change, so it may describe a product no longer on sale.

Sunlu’s 48 ± 10 MPa means the sheet stands behind anything from 38 to 58 MPa. If you design a Sunlu part, design to 38.

Extrudr and Fiberlogy publish almost the same set of numbers: 51 MPa, 28 and 29 percent elongation at break, a modulus of 3,100 and 2,800 MPa, 78 °C softening and a density of 1.29 g/cm³. Neither says how its bars were made. Extrudr’s sheet does cite ISO 294-4, a standard for injection-moulded test specimens, for its shrinkage figure. Those numbers look like moulded resin, and 28 percent elongation is more than five times what eSun’s printed bars reached. They may describe the plastic going into the extruder accurately. They do not describe a printed part, and we would ask either company for printed-bar data before designing to them.

Heat resistance

Brand HDT at 0.45 MPa HDT at 1.8 MPa Vicat Glass transition Density
Prusament 68 °C 68 °C Not published Not published 1.27 g/cm³
Polymaker 78 °C 75 °C 84 °C 81 °C 1.25 g/cm³
Bambu Lab PETG Basic 71 °C 68 °C 69 °C 69 °C 1.25 g/cm³
eSun 64 °C (GB/T 1634) Not published Not published Not published 1.27 g/cm³
Overture Not published Not published 84 °C Not published 1.24 g/cm³
Sunlu 70 ± 5 °C Not published Not published 79.4 °C 1.27 g/cm³
Extrudr Not published Not published 78 °C (Vicat A) Not published 1.29 g/cm³
Fiberlogy Not published Not published 78 °C (listed as softening temperature) Not published 1.29 g/cm³

The heat figures that can be compared point to a real difference in the plastic. Polymaker and Bambu Lab both test HDT to ISO 75 at both loads, and both give a glass transition measured by DSC at 10 °C per minute. Polymaker comes out 7 °C higher on HDT at 0.45 MPa and 12 °C higher on glass transition. A consistent gap on two different tests is hard to put down to method. For a part that sits near 70 °C, Polymaker’s sheet puts that temperature below its HDT at both loads, and Bambu Lab’s puts it right at the edge.

eSun’s 64 °C is the lowest HDT in the group, measured to the Chinese GB/T 1634 method at 0.45 MPa. Prusament lists 68 °C at both loads. Sunlu’s 70 °C carries ± 5 °C.

Three sheets give no HDT at all, only a Vicat or softening temperature. Vicat pushes a loaded needle into the surface and does not track HDT in any fixed way. On the two sheets that publish both, Polymaker’s Vicat sits 6 °C above its HDT and Bambu Lab’s sits 2 °C below. A Vicat of 78 or 84 °C says little about how a printed part holds its shape under load at that temperature. Extrudr also notes that its temperature resistance was tested at a minimum wall thickness of 4 mm, thicker than many printed walls.

Brand Nozzle Bed Drying
Prusament 250 ± 10 °C 80 ± 10 °C Not in datasheet
Polymaker 230-260 °C 70-80 °C 65 °C for 6 h
Bambu Lab PETG Basic 230-260 °C 65-75 °C 65 °C for 8 h
eSun 230-260 °C 75-90 °C 60 °C for 8 h
Overture Not legible in the copy we have 70-80 °C Not in datasheet
Sunlu 240-260 °C 60-70 °C 60-65 °C, no time given
Extrudr 210-230 °C 60-90 °C Not in datasheet
Fiberlogy 250 °C 90 °C Not listed

Extrudr’s whole nozzle range sits at or below the lowest temperature any other sheet recommends, which fits its description of a low-shrink formulation that processes at lower temperatures. Switching between Extrudr and any other brand on the same printer profile means printing one of them outside its recommended window.

Only Polymaker, Bambu Lab and eSun give both a drying temperature and a time. Four of the eight sheets say nothing about drying.

On diameter, Prusament states ± 0.02 mm and supplies a sheet of diameter readings along the length of each spool. eSun’s own store lists ± 0.05 mm. On 1.75 mm filament that is a swing of about 2.9 percent in diameter either way, and close to 6 percent in the amount of plastic per millimetre of filament.

Price

Brand Price on 13 September 2026 Where
Prusament PETG, 1 kg €32.99 list, €28.04 with a 15 percent discount prusa3d.com
Polymaker PETG, 1 kg $18.99 shop.polymaker.com
Bambu Lab PETG Basic, 1 kg €22.99 list, discounted on the day eu.store.bambulab.com
eSun PETG, 1 kg $14.99 esun3dstore.com
Overture PETG, 1 kg $22.99 list, $14.99 on sale overture3d.com
Sunlu PETG, 1 kg $18.99 list, $10.49 on sale store.sunlu.com
Extrudr PETG, 1.1 kg €38.58, listed as sold out 3D Material-Shop (retailer)
Fiberlogy Easy PETG, 1 kg €23.37 3DJake (retailer)

Each store showed us its own currency and we have not converted between them. Sunlu’s sale price was 45 percent below its list price and Overture’s 35 percent below. When a sale runs that deep, the list price is mostly decoration. Among the euro prices, Extrudr is the most expensive at about €35.07 per kilogram. Among the dollar prices, eSun is the cheapest at $14.99.

What we would pick, by use

For a part loaded across its layers, Polymaker, because it is the only sheet in the group with a Z strength above 40 MPa, and the band on that figure is tight. For heat, also Polymaker, with the highest documented HDT and glass transition. Bambu Lab’s PETG Basic is the stronger number when the load runs along the layers, at 51 ± 1 MPa flat, and its 16 MPa drop in Z is something to design around before you find it on a broken part.

For cost, eSun publishes a full set of printed flat and Z figures at the lowest dollar price we saw. Its numbers are also the lowest printed figures in the group, which makes it a sound budget choice for parts that are nowhere near their limits.

Prusament’s sheet is the oldest here, from 2022, and its most useful layer-strength figure comes from a method no other brand uses. The spool-by-spool diameter readings are the best quality documentation in the group; the mechanical data needs an update. Sunlu’s part of the table is usable only if you design to the bottom of its ± 10 MPa band.

Extrudr and Fiberlogy need printed-bar data before their sheets are worth designing to. For Overture, wait for a datasheet that matches the 2026 formula.

What this comparison does not cover

We did not print or break a single bar. Everything above is what the brands publish, so a batch that differs from its datasheet would not show up here, and neither would a colour that prints differently from the natural grade. We have also not collected user review scores for this piece.

Datasheets change without much notice. In the last year Overture announced a new PETG formula and Bambu Lab relaunched PETG Basic with an upgraded one. We will revise these tables when the brands publish new sheets.

Sources